Australian High Commission
Trinidad and Tobago
High Commission address: 18 Herbert Street, St Clair, PORT OF SPAIN - Telephone: 822 5450 - Fax: 822 5490 - Email:





Announcement: Direct Aid Program (DAP) - 2014/2015 Recipients

The Australian High Commission in Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago is pleased to announce that 23 projects have been funded so far for the 2014/2015 cycle. The list of recipients of funding via the Direct Aid Program (DAP) for the 2014/2015 cycle can be found here.  




New South Wales State Election – 28 March 2015

There will be no overseas voting services available for the New South Wales State Election on 28 March 2015. For voting information and postal vote application forms, please refer to the NSW Electoral Commission website at: Postal vote applications must be received by the NSW Electoral Commission no later than 6:00 PM on 1 April 2015.

Electors who will be overseas at the time of the election can also register and vote using the iVote system. Visit the iVote website at: or call +61 2 9290 5287 to register.



Happy Australia Day

The Australian High Commission in Port of Spain is pleased to extend greetings to the entire Australian community in the Caribbean.

In an excerpt from his national day greetings in which he spoke about the Australia Caribbean relationship going forward, the High Commissioner noted:

" In the Caribbean we (Australia) continue to promote collaborations and partnerships in areas including health, education, agriculture and the environment particularly by sharing the experience and expertise gained through our custodianship of the Great Barrier 2014 we began building partnerships across the Caribbean, promoting road safety awareness."

To hear more about this road safety initiative click here.    

Applications are now CLOSED for the 2014-2015 Direct Aid Program

The Direct Aid Program (DAP) is a flexible, small grants scheme for development activities managed by Heads of Australian Missions in approximately 45 countries. The emphasis of the program is on alleviating basic humanitarian hardships.

For more information about the program, visit

Assessments and evaluation of the various projects submitted have now commenced. Applicants are advised that individual responses to submissions will only be given following completion of this process.

The Australian HIgh Commission wishes to thank everyone who participated in this process.

Australia in Focus - The G20 Presidency



Australia held the presidency of the Group of Twenty (G20) from 1 December 2013 to 30 November 2014. Australia chaired the G20 meetings in 2014, bringing together leaders, Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors, Trade Ministers and Employment and Labour Ministers from major developing and advanced economies to address critical economic and financial challenges facing the world.

The G20 is the world’s premier forum for international economic cooperation and decision making. G20 members account for 85 per cent of global GDP, 75 per cent of global trade and two-thirds of the world’s population. Australia’s G20 Presidency focused on promoting stronger economic growth and employment outcomes and making the global economy more resilient to deal with future shocks.The G20 Leaders’ Summit held in Brisbane on 15-16 November 2014 was heralded as a success. Australia thanks the international community for its support during this chairmanship.

Speaker of the House, Bronwyn Bishop visits Trinidad and Tobago



Speaker of the House of Representatives of the Commonwealth of Australia, the Honourable Bronwyn Bishop, MP, is greeted on her arrival by President of the Senate of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago, Senator the Honourable Timothy Hamel-Smith. Looking on is Mr Brian Caesar, Marshal of the Parliament of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago.

Read the full story here


 Media Releases


Media Releases from the Australian Minister for Foreign Affairs can be found here.

Media Releases from the Australian Minister for Trade and Investment can be found here.


 Speeches from the Australian Minister for Foreign Affairs can be found here.

 Speeches from the Australian Minister for Trade and Investment can be found here.




small text  default text  larger text